The easiest way to print a calendar on a Mac

Today I had the need to print out a calendar for my wife. She needed a blank printout to write a schedule to hang on her wall. My first thought was “I think there is a template in Apple’s iWork Pages that could do this.” Well, that was a poor assumption. No such luck. I went to the iWork community site to find a template but nothing was really useful.

Then it hit me! I have iCal. Right there under the file menu I chose print, fully expecting to just get a bland printout of my current view. That’s not the Apple way though. You get a nice print preview and preference panel that allows some great print options. You can select the number of months to print, along with which calendar events to include. Black and white or color? No problem. Even mini-months are included. This is a wonderful surprise built right into iCal.

Temp

Technorati Tags: , , , , , ,

36 Responses to The easiest way to print a calendar on a Mac

  1. Ismar says:

    Too bad you can’t print a blank calendar though. It won’t let you print calendars with no events on them!

  2. Gaz says:

    you can print a blank calendar if you print it before you enter all your events.
    or you can remove all the home or work (not both) by removing the tick before you print on that section.

  3. Doug says:

    I print a family calendar every year for Christmas with different photos for family members and events. That’s the fun part.

    Doing each month’s grid, numbering them and adding all of the family’s important dates always proved tedious. Additionally, I usually had an error or two in each calendar.

    I’m good with Photoshop, not so good with organization, This tip let’s me stick to the fun part and let my Mac handle the little details.

    I can’t believe I didn’t figure this one out myself, but I couldn’t be happier that someone did and had the good sense to post it and share this great tip!!!

  4. Chris Joyce says:

    To Doug ….
    I’m trying to get a similar project done. how do you add photos?

  5. Scott Lindhurst says:

    If you want a tiny yearly calendar on approximately one page, in the second Print dialog (the standard one, not the iCal one), you can adjust the layout to print 9 or 16 pages on one sheet of paper. (The ability to do this may depend on your printer driver.)

  6. Rand says:

    Can anyone help – in iCal (3.0.8), when I try to print my monthly View I have times automatically generated attached to them – odd times-not sure where they came from.
    So I went into Preferences > Advanced made sure “turn on Time Zone support” was not checked. Then went into > General “show time in month view”. Toggle back and fourth on that one shows the time in view or not – even when not seen it still prints. I never use time except in the posting (ex: doctor 3PM) I don’t need some automatic population system. When I go into command P and turn off TIMED EVENTs they all my daily events disappear (time & event). Any ideas?

  7. Mary says:

    This is so cool. Another tip I just discovered for those photo shop savvy. When you print the calendar, instead of printing, tell it to save as a pdf. Then open a photo shop document the whatever size you want. Choose file, place and put the pdf anywhere you want and resize as desired.
    Fortunately, I don’t use my Ical so I have no events on it. Just a nice blank template.

  8. Mary Minton says:

    Can anyone tell me how to increase the size of the date numbers on a printout of an iCal month? I use these as wall calendars and need to be able to see the dates from a distance.

    Thanks

    • Barry Mann says:

      I wish this was possible too, the numbers are too small to see, especially if you print more than one month on a page, like I do for my headache diary. You can increase the size of the appointments in the calendar slightly bigger than the numbers, but not big enough to see/use as calendar dates.

      If anyone knows an alternate calendar program that allows larger date numbers, i’d love to see it.

    • Barry Mann says:

      I found that Microsoft Entourage, which i have in my Microsoft Office 2008 suite, but have never used, DOES allow you to adjust the size of the calendar numbers as big as you want in any font you want. I found the adjustment in the print dialog box (FILE menu pull down, click on PRINT…then click on the Layout button in the lower right, and there are choices in the next window to adjust the font type and size of the LABELS which are the date numbers and month name. Now my old eyes can read the dates, even when i print 6 months on one page!

  9. Ashley says:

    How do I print a monthly calendar page w/o the page number at the bottom? I am saving as pdf and would be sending this to a print shop in that format, but it looks very unprofessional with the “page 1/1″ printed at the bottom right.

  10. Thanks so much for this. I’ve been searching and searching. I almost resorted to firing up the old Windows computer to print out the Word calendar…thank goodness you saved me!

  11. missm says:

    THANK YOU!!

  12. Elyshia Reis says:

    Thanks for the tips… I used Appleworks ’06 for the longest time up until I got a Macbook Air… so I was wondering what software was available that could allow me to continue making a monthly calendar for my fridge… turns out it was right in front of me the whole time with iCal!

  13. PM Homiak says:

    thank you!

  14. Thank you so much! I have been trying to do this for about a week. This was so easy!

  15. JoAnn says:

    THANK YOU THANK YOU !!!!!!

  16. Marketing Automation…

    [...]The easiest way to print a calendar on a Mac « Isn’t that special[...]…

  17. Servicio tecnico informatico Barcelona…

    [...]The easiest way to print a calendar on a Mac « Isn’t that special[...]…

  18. Mary McGrath says:

    Is there any way to priint it in portrait format? I keep a gardening journal, and all other years are in portrait style.

  19. Jen says:

    Thank you for such a common sense solution. I just spent way too much time trying to find a basic template to use in Pages (which by the way, should have a calendar template like Publisher). Your tip was exactly what I needed.

  20. Natalie says:

    THANK YOU! Jeez… I also just spent way too much time trying to find a basic template. And then I found THIS post! SO AWESOME! THANKS!!

  21. Where exactly did you actually get the recommendations to write
    ““The easiest way to print a calendar on a Mac | Isn\t that special”?
    Thanks for your effort -Elana

  22. Hello there, just became alert to your blog through Google,
    and found that it’s really informative. I am gonna watch out for brussels. I’ll appreciate if you continue this in future.
    Many people will be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

  23. Amanda says:

    I was recommended this web site by my cousin. I am not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such
    detailed about my problem. You’re incredible! Thanks!

  24. Superb, what a website it is! This web site gives helpful facts to us, keep it up.

  25. Hello, yeah this article is in fact fastidious and I have
    learned lot of things from it on the topic of blogging.

    thanks.

  26. I ordinarily do not place in Blogs but your blog pushed me
    to, stunning exercise.. Gorgeous …

  27. Jacqueline says:

    Read the fine printFor example, zero percent car finance does work both for
    the loan. How can I refinance my debt relief reviews with very
    poor credit nevertheless to get an Expedition with leather seats, safety features like
    backup sensors and a sun roof.

  28. Hasan says:

    How can I print the calendar from August 11 to September dates in one sheet from iCal.

  29. As a beginner, always looking for articles online which can enable me.

    I say thank you

  30. Let’s do it. And if that wasn”. This scam involves someone sending a phishing email to a large numbers of email addresses.

  31. Amazing things listed here. I’m pretty content to see your post. Many thanks a great deal of using this program . looking forward to get in touch with you. Will you be sure to decrease us a mailbox?

  32. Why didn’t I think of this!?!? So helpful! Thank you!!!

  33. Duperre super-site! I am loving it! ‘ Will come back again – finding you to eat, give Thanks.

  34. facebook ads says:

    I rarely comment, but i did some searching and wound
    up here The easiest way to print a calendar on a Mac | Isn\’t that special.
    And I actually do have some questions for you if it’s allright.

    Is it only me or does it seem like a few of the comments come across like they are coming from brain dead people? :-P And, if you are writing on additional sites, I’d
    like to follow everything fresh you have to post. Could you make
    a list of every one of all your shared sites like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin
    profile?. Have you ever silently asked yourself how
    to facebook ads about facebook?
    buy facebook likes 5k Level of quality enthusiasts For Only $29.
    9 Conserve.
    facebook advertising, how to get more likes
    on facebook

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

