Mac Tips – Calculator plugin for Quicksilver

I think every long time Mac user is friends with Quicksilver. In fact I list it as one of my favorite Freeware apps. I find it difficult to use a Mac that doesn’t have it installed. The calculator plugin for Quicksilver is extremely useful. To install it, go to the preferences for QS and check the box next to “Calculator Module”

Picture 2

Once it is installed, invoke QS (mine is activated by ctrl-space) and hit the period on your keyboard. This brings up the text editing box. Type an equation in and tab over to the next window. No start typing “Calculator” until the Calculator actions is selected.

Picture 3 Picture 5
After you hit return, the result will be placed back in the text field. There are also calculator actions to place the result on the clipboard or just display it on the screen.

Picture 6

Technorati Tags: , ,

18 Responses to Mac Tips – Calculator plugin for Quicksilver

  1. […] Slowly, I filtered through all of the widgets and settled on just a few that are truly useful. Of course I use Apple’s Calendar, Clock and Stock ticker (I use Quicksilver for my calculator), but my favorite widgets are not provided by Apple. Here is my list of third party widgets that actually bring something useful to the user experience. […]

  2. […] Slowly, I filtered through all of the widgets and settled on just a few that are truly useful. Of course I use Apple’s Calendar, Clock and Stock ticker (I use Quicksilver for my calculator), but my favorite widgets are not provided by Apple. Here is my list of third party widgets that actually bring something useful to the user experience. […]

  3. Moises says:

    What I want to do on my blog, is every few hours take the oldest post and move it to the
    front of the queue, all automatically. Anyone know if there is a plugin that can do this or
    a simple way to set up another plugin to do this (use my own feed perhaps)?
    Thanks.

  4. macgiver says:

    Not sure. Perhaps with some Applescript and Ecto.

  5. Chris says:

    Thank you so much! Btw by typing “=” after typing the period and before entering the equation, the calculator module is preselected which makes things even easier!

  6. MemZ says:

    you dont need to type . you can type = and QS will detect calculator mode

  7. Mike says:

    Is there a way to make it calculate on the fly? I’ve been using launchy for pc and it calculated instantly without having to tap return.

  8. John Pash says:

    Does anyone know how to copy the answer to the clipboard?

  9. John, after the calculation it stays with the number, just look for copy to clipboard

  10. Tuomas says:

    Hi

    For some reason, the “=” sign isn’t working for me. Quicksilver is the newest version and Calculator expansion is installed. When I press the equal sign, Macbook gives error beep.

    If I press dot and enter my math calculation and then choose Calculator from the action tab it works.

    Strange behaviour, I’ve been trying to search for this for an hour now…

  11. […] me want to use it for more complicated tasks. Compose a quick email? Sure. Do a quick calculation? Why not. What does that word mean? Do a quick search. The word here is quick, and I find that I engage […]

  12. […] do math with the Calculator plugin […]

  13. sixeightzero says:

    I totally forgot about this action until my system calculator started acting up. Couldnt apply any actions. Now a simple . type and tab and i get my results onscreen. Gotta love it!!!

  14. After I originally commented I seem to have
    clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now whenever a comment is added I get four
    emails with the exact same comment. There has to be an easy method
    you can remove me from that service? Cheers!

  15. As the camera goes, take into account the type of
    equipment for use to make the right baby portrait.
    If you want to market your photography online businesses, there are some different ways to go about it.
    This can also be an opportunity for you to know how they’ll
    cover these scenes.

Leave a Reply

